Photo

For anyone transiting through Shanghai, China

Shanghai Ji Hotel transit transiting transit to Shanghai good hotel in China Shanghai hotels transit hotel Chuansha hotel bangkok to shanghai

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 zachary

zachary

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 608 posts

Posted 02 August 2016 - 08:07 PM

I'm on my way back to Bangkok from Chicago, have a 30 hour transit in Shanghai, China. Flying a pretty good, budget airline China Eastern Air (CEA). It's my first time ever doing this "transiting" thing but it went pretty smooth.

Flight

Just wanted to give a little info and recommendation, since CEA now has direct routes to/from Bangkok, also direct flights to/from some USA locations, including Chicago O'hare. CEA website, I booked my flight through Expedia though.

The flight was not bad, for good price. BIG TIP! If you travel with CEA be sure to register for their skymiles program, and register for internet if you'd like to use it in flight. I tried to use my cell phone and they told me twice i have to have it off the entire flight, NO PHONES at all. But you can have wifi for other devices, like tablet, not sure if laptops are ok. Most of the attendants were nice, 1 guy was a bit of a dick though, telling me to turn off my phone and no internet allowed at all (even though previous attendants already told me they allow internet for 50 people for free but need to register beforehand)

Hotel

This hotel i'm staying in is great! For the price, only $48 usd, located near the airport, cost from airport taxi to my hotel front door was 53 China Yuen ($8 usd). Name is Ji Hotel Shanghai, Chuansha Branch. (Address is: No.5007 Chuansha Road Chuansha New Town, Shanghai International Tourism and Resorts Zone, Shanghai, China)

Make sure print your Agoda voucher so you can show the taxi the exact address in Chinese language, most taxi drivers from airport speak 0 English.

1. hotel near to shopping mall and McDonalds